South Manchester English Tutor


Julia Maine

hit counter

BA (Hons); PGCE; PGC Adult Dyslexia Diagnosis & Support;
Advanced Dip. in Special Needs in Education; MTA; MIfL

Private English Tuition &

Grammar School Entrance Exam Preparation
25+ Years Specialism in 11+ Tuition

Didsbury, South Manchester


Highly qualified and experienced teacher trained in Primary Education, Further & Adult Education, Adult Dyslexia Diagnosis and general Special Needs.


Over twenty-five years' experience preparing children for grammar school entrance exams, English tuition and ten years' experience teaching Basic Literacy to GCSE  in Further & Adult Education.


Wide experience teaching all ages from pre-school to adults and diverse abilities from SLD, autism, sensory impairments, dyslexia to exceptionally gifted children.

The majority of my tutees come to me from word of mouth (see Testimonials) because of my reputation for high quality tutoring and because I am known by the local community, having lived in Didsbury for most of my adult life. I often work with families over several years teaching a number of their children, mostly in preparation for grammar school entrance exams.

I am patient and understanding, making children feel comfortable and confident. Teaching is not merely my profession, but my passion, particularly since the birth of my now adult daughter with Down's syndrome, having successfully taught her the three Rs during her pre-school years and having helped her exceed many other expectations. Needless to say, I attract tutees with special educational needs as well as more able and gifted tutees.



BA (Hons) Humanities (2:1)


PgCert Adult Dyslexia Diagnosis and Support (Master's level)

PgDip in Special Needs in Education (Master's level)

Diploma in Modern Social History Research (my research report is published here)


Relevant Health and Safety Certificates 

Available to view on request, along with my professional qualifications.

Holds a clean, enhanced DBS certificate

British Red Cross Basic First Aid

Professional references


Other Relevant Experience


Published novelist (under a pen name) and academic writing here.

Design, build and manage websites;

Ten years' experience teaching basic computing (besides English) in F & A Education;



During term-time I generally tutor weekdays until 7 p.m., and restrict tuition to the minimum during school holiday periods.


Please access my contact page HERE to enquire about current availability.


Generally, I am fully booked with a waiting list. Should this be the case when you apply for a place, I will endeavour to let you know as soon as a place becomes available. 



  For information on my tuition services, fees and availability, please follow the links at the top and bottom of each page.



Home     Tuition Services     Fees & Terms     Testimonials     Site Map     Contact